Focus 3’s the place to bee!

20 07 2009

So Saturday was our last oikos for the summer. It was bittersweet since it was my last one before I head off to NYC in the fall, but a good time of encouragement. Jullie had us all go around and say something encouraging about the person to our right. It took a while to get around the whole circle, but I almost wanted to go around again and again until everyone was able to say at least one thing about everyone. I feel like we had a good dynamic going in our oikos group this past year, and I genuinely felt like I had at least one nice thing to say about everyone. Therefore, in stark contrast to my last angry entry, I will post a few nice words here about everyone that was there today. I highly doubt that anyone from oikos even reads this except maybe like 2 people, but if you do, you can guess which one you are here and I hope you are encouraged! 🙂 So with out naming names here goes (some are probably more obvious than others):

  • You are definitely one of the hardest workers I know, and I am always inspired by your dedication in all your work. Although we didn’t really get close till the end of undergrad, you have been such an awesome friend to me during that time. Always willing to lend an ear without a hint of complaint, even when it’s the same story I’ve told you for the gazillionth time. I always remember you never ever forgetting my birthday or special dates/holidays, and even the gifts you give me are so thoughtfully chosen. You are also one of the most energetic and grounded people I know. There’s never much that can get you down, and even when you are down, all it takes is one prayer or a few words of encouragement to get you back on your feet right away. Thanks especially for all the words of wisdom, encouragement, and support that you have given me over the past 6 months. Can not thank you enoughhhhh!!
  • I already said yours out loud during oikos, but it never hurts to hear more encouragement, right? Even though I was scared of you when you terrorized the halls of Ridgeview MS with your death stare, I’m glad that I can call you one of my best friends now teehee. Thanks for laughing at all my jokes whether they are funny or not, letting me finish your food most of the time, listening to my babble, etc. There is never an uncomfortable moment with you, and you tolerate and allow me to be my weird butt self to the max. You also may be small, but you are certainly not weak. I am so lucky to have an amazing friend like you! You’re a real gem.
  • I am usually shaking my head at 99% of the things you say and making sure you know it, but I’ll give you credit for a few things. You are definitely a good sport when it comes to all the verbal abuse we throw your way. Also, despite your at times pompous and machismo attitude, I still think you’re a big softie inside. You definitely have your “moments” and those shouldn’t be overlooked, but the ego could still definitely be toned down a bit (which we will of course continue to assist you with…) But in all seriousness, if anything, I think God has blessed you with a servants heart. Always willing to lend a hand with the grunt work without hesitation. It’s also clear that you take care of friends in whatever capacity. Haha should be expected of a friend, but you definitely take the extra step to make sure they know you care. I respect that because it’ s not something that everyone necessarily does. One of my rare moments of kindness to you!
  • Whenever I see you, I see that you are a man that is truly after God’s heart and I have a tremendousss amount of respect for that. I remember serving with you at the first Timothy retreat that I helped out with and just being very inspired and touched by your heart for the students. Now that you’re back to serve at NCFC again, I see how your heart has extended out to the Impact group as well. I’m sad that I won’t be around to see what else God is going to do through you for both ministries. Also, even though you looked at my elementary school picture and asked me if I had a brother, I forgive you.
  • I’ve only known you really for a few weeks with our conversations being limited to fellowship time after church, but even during that short time I have been encouraged by your attendance. I know how hard it must be to continue coming to a church so large where you don’t know many people, but I’m glad that despite the circumstances you still made it out! You’re coooo.
  • The way that God has been working in you the past few years is so encouraging! It is so clear how much the timothy kids love you, and I respect that you take time out of your busy schedule to spend time with them every week no matter what. They’re clearly one of the top priorities in your life, and I’m so touched by the heart that God has given you for the timothy students. You’ve also always, without question, been a gentleman (for example helping to take care of your friend’s flub ups, even when it’s something as big as having to take someone to HC. HAHA, do you remember?) Seeing your faith and dedication flourish over the years has blessed me immensely. Finally, random but I think you’re probably one of the most athletic people I know. Is there any sport you’re NOT good at??
  • As was said on Saturday, you really do have one of the softest hearts of anyone I know. I have never seen you angry, and you’re always up for doing anything. The joy that God’s given you is truly a gift, and contagious as well! I remember specifically hanging out with you and the other guys 4th of July, and I didn’t think it you had that much fun, but when we all got home I remember you saying, “Man I had a GREAT time!!” and I felt so happy for some reason haha. I hope nothing ever happens to taint your joyful heart. Your happiness is a blessing to others as well.
  • Though you are a man of few words, your passion for God is so evident in your actions. You’re always willing to serve when asked, and I can’t tell you how many times God has used you to bless me through worship. You’re also somehow amazingly good at EVERYTHING. Except taboo…HAHAHA. But besides that, I hope your passion for Him never dies. You bless me!
  • Didn’t really get to know you all that well till this past year, but better late than never, right?. Thanks so much for taking the time out to really teach me how to lead worship and provide me with everything I need. Thanks also for listening and constantly pushing me to do things when I was in my slump. You are inappropriate sometimes, but a good friend. I’ve learned a lot from you, and God has truly anointed you with the gift of worship. Thanks dood for everythanggg.
  • Sad that you are leaving for Korea! I’ve never seen you mad either! Always very patient, kind, and optimistic about everything. Such admirable qualities. I’ve been most blessed though by your faithfulness and commitment to Focus and our oikos specifically. Thanks for being an awesome leader. I know God will use you and bless you in Korea! You will be missedd!!
  • Where to begin?? I think that you are one of the kindest, most caring, and gentle people I know. Thanks also for everything you have done for me. Just listening, hanging out, and being a wonderful unnie. It may sound weird, but when you are around I feel very safe and taken care of haha, but at the same time I can always have fun with you. Seeing how quickly you pick yourself up after hardships has also helped me a lot and I admire that a lot about you. Thanks for being a great role model and example of a Godly woman. Love you so much!!
  • Just got to know you this past year, but you are probably one of the most down to earth people I know. Always very welcoming to everybody and trying to get everyone together without excluding anyone. I’m always encouraged by your desire to grow and enthusiasm for oikos! I also appreciate the one “heart to heart” we had over jumbo slice Ahaha.
  • Last, but certainly not least, you are probably one of the most amazing living testimonies I have known to date. Whenever I see how far you have come along in your faith I”m always in awe. I’m also envious of your ability to always keep your head on straight and focus on the important things no matter what your circumstances. For me personally, I’m feel like I”m very weak hearted, so when I see you it teaches me to toughen up and stop complaining about the little things haha. Even before you came to know God He blessed you with a very loving and caring heart. I think one of my oldest and fondest memories of you is when I didn’t even really know you, but it was v-ball tryouts and I was getting a little bit discouraged and tired, but randomly you came up to me during one of the drills and said, “You’re really good!!” After you said that I remember being really happy hahaha. Only a very tiny example of your gimongous heart for others. You put up with my shennanigans daily for 4 years and still continue to do so to this very date. Thanks so much. Where would I be without you??

Okay whew that’s all. I tried to keep each one brief. There’s of course tons more things that could be said about everyone, but I ain’t trying to publish a novel on this thing. I also tried to leave out the incessant amount of smilies I tend to put in my entries. Have a vonderful day everyone! I leave you with pictures of our wonderful group 🙂 (courtesy of Tai of course)

focus3gangsta

focus3normal

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 07 2009
hignited

oh my oh my oh my. what an absolutely endearing post. these are some awesome words of affirmation! the ability to see & appreciate each and every person in your oikos in the way that you do is really an evidence of our Lord Jesus in your life!

22 07 2009
munchieveggie

I love you! That entry definitely brought tears. 🙂 Of joy of course! And hahah I could totally see your train of thought, you went around the circle again!

23 07 2009
stephanie

dude i love it. this post made my heart happy…so affirming, and such an encouraging reminder of why community in the church is so awesome.

23 07 2009
not your slave

layout change…signs of a comeback?

Leave a Reply

